Guam Autospot cruise to GHRA Bowling League title


Sunday, November 20, 2016 – CENTRAL LANES BOWLING CENTER, Tamuning, Guam

After 10 weeks of competition and the single elimination round finale, Guam Autospot was crowned the 2016 Guam Hotel and Restaurant Association Bowling League champion at the Central Lanes Bowling Center on Sunday, November 20, 2016.

The nine-week head to head team format concluded with the top four teams from each division advancing to the elimination rounds where Lotte Hotel Guam and Hotel Nikko Guam were the top seeds for each of their respective divisions.  Division A group included 2nd seed Hyatt Regency Hotel, 3rd seed Guam Autospot and 4th seed Pacific Islands Club.  Division B qualifiers were 2nd seed Quality Distributors, 3rd seed Outrigger Guam Beach Resort and 4th seed Ernst & Young.

In the first elimination round, PIC upset top seed Lotte Hotel Guam while Guam Autospot diminished Hyatt Regency’s chances of advancing, to set up the Division A Finals.  Hotel Nikko Guam avoided an upset against Ernst & Young while Quality Distributors and Outrigger Guam’s match went down to the wire with Quality Distributors eking out a three-pin decision for Division B’s final two teams.

The divisional finals witnessed B top seed Hotel Nikko Guam’s dreams of winning the championship shattered by Quality Distributors as the later pounced on the pins running away with the match.  Guam Autospot continued their steady scoring outpacing Pacific Islands Club to set up the annual championship.

In the Championship match Guam Autospot turned on the scoring machine to create the space they needed to defeat Quality Distributors and hoist the coveted championship trophy.  The team consists of Kathy Mandapat, Mike Mafnas, Shaun Miranda, Mike Bautista, Quina Muna, Ryan Flores, Ken Duenas and Zachary Sanchez.

Individual awards were presented to Ian Cabrera and Kathy Mandapat for Men and Women’s High Average.  Zayne Zamora and Lani Guerrero earned High Series trophies.  Jayr Naron and Malou Brigino received the High Game award.  High Handicap Series went TJ Pangelinan and Rowena Ortega while the High Handicap Game was awarded to Regene De Vega and Alicia Roberto.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s