Guam National Olympic Committee reelects officers through 2020

Friday, February 17, 2017 – GNOC Headquarters, Maite, Guam

The Guam National Olympic Committee held its quadrennial General Assembly meeting on Thursday, February 16, 2017 at its Maite headquarter with all member National Federations being represented by their respective executives.  The quadrennial meeting’s main topic was the election of officers for the term of 2017-2020.

Secretary-General Robert J. Steffy announced that there are seven positions available on the board which includes the post of President, Vice President and Secretary-General.  Thereafter, he advised the members that the office had only received seven nomination forms representing the same number of posts available.  With this, a motion was made to accept the named nominees for the post and approved by the body.

Upon certification, all current executive and board members were reinstated to serve through the quadrennial headed by President Ricardo Blas of Marianas Judo Association.  Gordon Chu of Guam Bowling Congress and Steffy of Guam Major League will continue their tenure as Vice President and Secretary-General respectively.  Roger Wahl of Guam Handball Federation, Tony Thompson of Guam Basketball Confederation, James Borja of Marianas Underwater Fishing Federation and Joey Miranda III of Guam Dragon Boat Federation complete the seven-member board of directors who shall serve through 2020.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s