Underclassmen win bowling all-island title

Saturday, May 11, 2019 – CENTRAL LANES BOWLING CENTER, Tamuning, Guam

Jeremiah Camacho from Okkodo and Alexandra Loyola from Tiyan High School claimed the individual All-island Bowling championship Saturday afternoon at Central Lanes. Camacho is a sophomore and Loyola is a freshman. The All-island tournament was the finale of the High School League which lasted five weeks.

Loyola wins for Tiyan 

img-20190512-wa0009.jpgLoyola entered the tournament as the top seed and defeated Makayla Quichocho from ND in the finals to win the title. Quichocho was the tenth seed and upset two higher seeds to make the final match.

A bashful Loyola said she was surprised to win in her first year. “It feels good to win, I was actually surprised that I did well today,” said Loyola. Loyola said the victory is special because she is a freshman and she has three more years to go. Loyola bowled a 171 to win the finals, Quichocho got behind early and never recovered and shot a 91.

Quichocho shot a 148 in the semi-final match to advance over fellow teammate and second-seed Kiersten Wolford. Quichocho and Wolford, both new-comers to the sport, helped the Royals to a 4-1 finish.

Camacho defends crown

img-20190512-wa0010.jpgCamacho claimed his second straight Guam High School Bowling All-Island Championship for Okkodo with a 254-206 victory over JFK’s Jared Petrus. Camacho won the title last year as a freshman and struck the first seven frames in the championship match to cruise to the title.

Petrus, the third seed, mounted strikes in the seventh, eighth and ninth frames but Camacho was too far ahead to catch. Petrus ended with a respectable 206 game and was applauded after the match.

Petrus and second-seed Camacho eliminated top seed Noah Taimanglo from ND in the semifinals. Camacho shot 210, Petrus 193 and Taimanglo opened in the final frame to end with a 175 to settle for third place. The high school title eluded Taimanglo once again after being upset last year in the quarterfinals. Taimanglo was the top seed based on total pinfall during the regular season.

“After Noah got eliminated I wasn’t relieved at all. Jared has been playing really well and was focused,” said Camacho after Taimanglo was upset in the semi-final. “Anything can happen and you can never take any opponent for granted”.

Camacho ended the league with the highest average at 218, Taimanglo had the highest two game series at 492 and Okkodo’s Jarwin Espiritu had the highest game with a 246 during the regular season.

IMG-20190511-WA0010The Tiyan Titans won the boys regular season team title with a 4-1 record, defeating JFK in the final regular season position round. The Titan team is includes Bryce Jacosalem, Jeaulian Perez, Sebastiane Loyola, Peter Gay and Wulfredo Adonay.

Alexandra Loyola from Tiyan had the highest average for the girls division with a 142. Taylor Mendiola from ND had the highest two game series with a 234 and the high game was claimed by JFK’s Kellie Agustin with a 134.

The Royals and Bulldogs tied to share the team championship in the girl’s division. The Bulldog team members are Malia Quichocho, Krissia Penaflor, Berylle Camposano, Trisha Zaragoza and Jenny Tinoso. The Royal squad members are Wolford, Makayla Quichocho, Toni-Mae Aguon and Mendiola.

The total number of league participants was 39 total bowlers. The top 12 from each division made the all-island tournament based on their regular season performances.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s